Yankees and Red Sox meet again tomorrow and everyone, just needs to accept they are the greatest rivalry in the game. As much as baseball fans try to resist it they still watch all of the 4+ hours they are on television. The one thing in sports everyone tries to do is who is the "next best," a way the media tries to spin things, "well what if the Yankees & Red Sox aren't good, we need an alternative."
We've had ones that have lasted for a few years and the faded. Cardinals-Astros earlier this decade, Yankees-Orioles in the late 90's, Angels-A's every so often, Mets-Braves are hanging by a thread and every team that plays each other in the AL Central. You may ask "Mo, what defines a rivalry." Well here's my qualification.
1. Proximity - I hated the Braves as a Mets fan, but I've rarely Met a Braves fan, so I just hated the team, and facing them. I know of Yankees & Phillies fans and they annoy the crap out of me, I hate talking to them, I hate their biases, and I hate their teams. I feel you have to know multiple fans of that supposed rivalry in order to be a rival. Which is why Yankees-Sox is so good, everywhere you look up the east coast, you'll find a bunch of Yankees or Sox fans.

2. Competition- Just because you finished 2nd to them twice in your lifetime doesn't make you rivals. So Cubs and Brewers fans, relax, it's not a rivalry. Battling each other for multiple years for a playoff spot makes every matchup intense. The Yankees and Red Sox have battled for a playoff spot every year since 1995. At least one of the two teams have made the playoffs since then, last time we had a postseason with both of those teams, was 1993.
3. Players- Big Papi, Manny, Pedro, A-Rod, Jeter, Clemens, names like that make you want to watch those games, aside from the fact they're rivals. J.J. Hardy, Corey Hart, and Prince Fielder vs Derrek Lee, Aramis Ramirez, and Ryan Theriot doesn't stir it up. Yes I know the Cubs have Soriano, but honestly do you tune into games to watch him. I don't think so.
4. Description- "Josh Beckett vs Joba Chamberlain, Sox-Yankees, next on FOX." Sounds good right. "Josh Beckett vs Matt Garza, Beckett Red Sox ace, vs ALCS MVP Matt Garza, next on MLB Network. Are you still asking who's Matt Garza, would you not know who he is unless I mentioned he was an ALCS MVP, do you still not know. In television less is more, I know I'm totally stealing from ESPN.com's Bill Simmons, but when you say "Rays-Red Sox, next on FOX" doesn't get me going.
So, with all that in mind let's breakdown some of them.

Cubs-Cardinals: I don't give a damn about the Cubs and Cardinals (I know, northeast bias) but can you honestly tell me people outside the midwest tune in for a Cubs/Cards game. Not since McGwire and Sosa left their teams, I have not watched a Cubs/Cardinals game with any interest. Pujols plays but i'd watch him even if he were playing the Pirates. Ryan Dempster vs Joel Pineiro doesn't really get my juices following.

Dodgers-Giants: When both teams are good, it is a good rivalry, earlier in this decade it was great to watch these two teams battle for the division, mainly cause they had more interesting players with guys like Barry Bonds and Jeff Kent. It is a rivalry that has almost as much history and Yankees-Sox. It does fit most of the qualifications, yet my main pet peeve is when they're trying to sell it to me now. Tim Lincecum facing Manny was kinda cool on Wednesday, but I bet most of you can't name the entire Giants infield...go ahead I'll give you time
(Edgar Renteria...I know everyone got)
(No, Jeff Kent retired this offseason)
(Omar Vizquel is with the Rangers)
If you can't name the infield, you shouldn't watch this rivalry. Don't try to make it seem like this is a much watch, when the Giants may only win 70 games.
Red Sox-Rays: The patented new school vs old school rivalry. "The Rays are tired of being kicked around by the big wigs in the division" that's the media's reason for why this is a rivalry. Yes they had a brawl, yes they faced each other in the ALCS, but i can't get jacked up for a game at Tropicana Field. First it's named after an orange juice (it's unbelievable they're two stadiums like that in the big leagues). Second of all, if the Rays finish 72-90 this year, is it still a rivalry? I need the Rays to have another good season, and battle with the BoSox for the division for me to be compelled to watch them.

No comments:
Post a Comment