This team is one pitcher, and a couple bullpen pieces away from being the best team in the NL. They have a tremendous core with Wright, Beltran, and Reyes. People who are saying it's time to break that up are ridiculous. There is no reason to do that. Delgado is a question mark, but since he will cost $12 million to resign or $4 million to let go, it's worth the $8 million to bring him back. I figure Omar Minaya will throw money at Francisco Rodriguez, and probably sign a few other potential bullpen guys. All they need is one of those guys to work, add him to K-Rod, find a guy in the minor leagues who can toss a solid 7th inning, and you're back in action in the bullpen. After that this team could use a bat for the corner outfield position, and another starting pitcher. I highly doubt Oliver Perez makes a return to the team, as Scott Boras is asking for an absurd amount of money. If his demands are lowered, and I can't imagine any team in baseball paying that $15 million ransom, he may come back, but I doubt it. Apparently, the Mets are interested in acquiring the services of Derek Lowe, and I think he would be a tremendous fit at CitiField. If those few moves fall into place for the Mets, do you have any doubt that the Mets will win 95-100 games next season?
And I know Mets fans are looking at this and saying, "I don't want to talk about next season, I did that last year and look where it got me." The difference between what happened this year and last, is simple. Last season was a complete collapse at the hands of everybody on the Mets. That team just crumbled apart last season from every angle. This year, the team was dead in the water, and Jerry Manuel dragged them all the way back. Almost to the playoffs, after your second pitcher, your closer, and your stud outfielder (Ryan Church was playing tremendous before he had the awful concussion) all went down with injuries. The bullpen completely unraveled and cost this team win after win. When you consider how bad the bullpen was, and how inconsistent the starting pitching was, it's incredible that this team came together to win 89 games.
The point is this. I know it's infuriating to hear right now Mets fans, but relax, take a deep breath, and realize that this team is a top contender. The last note about this whole Mets debacle. I understand the game was a 1 o'clock start, and there was no Sunday Night Baseball, and you didn't want people to have to come in at 10 am for the Shea Goodbye ceremony. But how do you not go through with that whole charade BEFORE that game? There is NO WAY the Mets lose that game after that ceremony. Even with the crowd as depressed as it was, that ceremony blew the lid off the place. It was tremendous (better than the Yankee Stadium ceremony, something Yankees brass should be ashamed of). It was just weird and depressing to watch that whole song and dance after one of the more crushing losses in the history of the franchise. I'll lend the Mets a line I've had to hear a few times in my life, wait 'til next year.
2 comments:
On the first note, Shea is going to be missed by this Met fan forever. Growing up a fan, being the place where my father took me to games, it is something I will hold dearly to my heart forever. And I can't wait to pass down the memories to my kids and so on that I experienced.
Second, I was on SW yesterday. A lot of things happened in a mere 48 hours (not just sports) and I was at rock bottom. But what does sports give every true fan? Hope. Another chance. Met fans have suffered through 3 straight years of tough finishes and yes it may get worse (ie Buffalo Bills, 4 straight loses in the Super Bowl). But we are on the cusp of a potential dynasty with only a few pieces to add. I think it is inevitable that we will throw the bank at Rodriguez, whether he bites is another story. We have promise in the likes of Joe Smith, Parnell and Kunz in the minors out of our pen. I want Lowe because he is a gamer and will come cheaper then Perez. And Perez will get his 15 million somewhere, especially since someone like Carlos Silva got 46 mil over 4 years. Get a healthy Church in RF and Murphy in left. Get rid of Castillo and make a run at Orlando Hudson. I love Delgado and without him we wouldn't of compete until the last day, but if we can sneak in on Tex, you have to do it. I wouldn't be upset with a Rotation of Santana, Lowe, Maine, Pelf and Niese if necessary inless Pedro will take a one year contract to return. And when it comes down to January and February. Invite as many middle relief arms to spring training as possible. A long way to go and maybe a fool's x-mas list, but its what we do. 48 hours later and I've licked my wounds and began the prospects of 2009. Always another chance.... LETS GO RAYS!!!
Couldn't agree more Holler, something that gets lost every season with all the heartache...only one team gets to win the world series every season. To win a championship, EVERYTHING has to go right. It takes a good degree of luck, and it only comes together once every now and then, like a lunar eclipse (unless you're the yankees). If nothing else there is a winning foundation of talent on this squad, they are a likable bunch, and Jerry Manuel is a good manager. Look for them to dominate the NL next year.
Post a Comment