Thursday, July 24, 2008

G vs Sami Vol. 5



When it comes to whether or not there should be instant replay in sports, the answer is simple: Get it Right. I'm so tired hearing people say, "Human error is a part of the game." Really? In any other situation in life, if you can rule out the chance of human error, don't you take that opportunity? There is WAY too much money on the line in these games, for the argument against Instant Replay. Go and ask the Baltimore Orioles if they would've liked instant replay in 1996. How different are the next 10 years of baseball history if we have instant replay in the Jefferey Maher game? Maybe the Yankees retain their dominant status, but maybe the Orioles start their own little dynasty. Maybe the Orioles rule the AL East for the next 5 years. We'll never know because a fan reached over and grabbed a ball, and the umpires couldn't review the call.

Is that a little too far-fetched for you? Scoffing at my Orioles theory? Ok, put yourself in the shoes of a Cubs fan in October. It's been 100 years since the Cubs won a World Series. Any game can come down to one run, or one play, as a Cubs fan, if we got ripped off a playoff game because of a bad call, when the right call could have been made with instant replay, I'd be livid. Beyond livid, I'd probably go down and take a few people with me. That doesn't even just qualify for a Cubs fan, a fan of any team would, and should be livid. Human error is only a part of the game because we couldn't figure out a way around it. The concept of shunning instant replay in favor of the 'human element' is narrow-minded, and shows a fear of technology and modernity. You think Sweet Lou fears technology? Absolutely not, but from the looks of that picture he should fear heart attacks.

Another argument against instant replay is that it will, "slow down the game." Hmm, have you seen Chien-Ming Wang or Daisuke Matsuzaka pitch? How about Steve "The Human Rain Delay" Trachsel. Even better, how about the inevitable argument that ensues after every poor call. Don't those things slow down the pace of the game? If people are worried about the speed of the game, than go watch football or basketball with a play clock or a shot clock. This is baseball, it's supposed to take all day. And you know what? If you watched Wimbledon this year, you'd know that that argument isn't even valid. The 'Hawkeye' technology that they used to decipher in and out calls, took seconds to cue up on the big screen. No arguments, no disputes, we knew what was going on right away. Get the call right, that is the bottom line. If you can get it in under 15 seconds, even better.



"But where does it end? Foul balls and home runs today, balls and strikes tomorrow!" Yeah? Bring it on. If we could have accurate technology to put up a legitimate strike zone, instead of an arbitrary imaginary box, I welcome that opportunity. Of course, we are nowhere near that, and until we are there is no point in arguing it. Again, if you have a chance to get the call that you KNOW is undoubtedly right, why wouldn't you take it? Where is the logic in playing a game where the final decision is up to human judgement? Take the chance out of the equation, and give me a definitive answer. Give me Instant Replay, and maybe one day we can get rid of officials altogether, wouldn't everybody be happy then?

1 comment:

Anonymous said...

I concur with Sami's opinion about bringing instant replay into the major league, however, theres one statement that boggles my mind... Sami tries to prove his manhood by stating, "Beyond livid, I'd probably go down and take a few people with me." If by "a few people" Sami meant 2 five year old children then he might be right. Other than that, Sami is spreading fables because he is softer than toilet paper and couldnt win on friday night sissy fights.