Look out Boston and Tampa Bay, the Yankees are coming on hard. (That's what she said) Seriously though, the Yanks are on the prowl big time. In the 12 games they've played since the All-Star Break, they've gone 9-3, and scored 91 runs. They've scored over 10 runs on four separate occasions in a span of merely 12 games. That is a dominant offensive run, and they've done it without Jorge, Matsui, and for the most part Damon. On top of those statistics, they've added Xavier Nady, Damaso Marte, Richie Sexson, and now Pudge Rodriguez to the ballclub. While Pudge and Sexson aren't the greatest bats in the world these days (I'm not saying they were on HGH or anything, but something is up) but they add great balance to a lefty-heavy lineup. Marte gives them a dependable lefty out of the bullpen to compliment Mariano and Eduar Ramirez.
I have to say, Brian Cashman has proved himself to be incredibly crafty over the last week or so. Getting Pudge Rodriguez AND dumping Kyle Farnsworth in one move? Now that's good management. Even though Farnsworth has been a little better lately, everybody knows it won't last, and Cashman pulled the trigger and got the maximum he could get out of Farnsworth. I also really like the fact that they aren't going to go and chase after a mediocre pitcher. Ian Kennedy is tearing it up in Triple-A, and it would be a good idea to trot him out for another go. As much as I have been doubting the youngster, in 6 starts he's pitched 33 innings and tallied a 2.4 era with a .88 whip. Between Phil Hughes, who is scheduled to make a rehab start next week, and Kennedy, the Yankees should be able to fill out the rotation in September. A-Rod is really starting to pick it up, and he will be the engine that gets this ball club going. Just like the first half of last season, when A-Rod single-handedly kept the Yankees in the race, he will be the piece that could send the club into the post-season.
I say could, because as good as the Yankees are, they will need help from the Rays and Sox. Funny thing is, for most of the season I thought the Red Sox were the best team in baseball, and now I'm not so sure. That potent Red Sox lineup is starting to show some signs of weakness, especially when they miss Manny or Papi in there. Ellsbury is coming down to earth rapidly, and that ace pitching staff is starting to look extremely questionable. Now I know Red Sox fans will point to the last 3 years and say they are over the Yankee jinx, but I don't really believe that.
At the end of the day, this is going to be the most interesting pennant chase to watch down the stretch. Three of the four best teams in the American League are in the AL East, and they're going to be fighting over those two playoff spots, so we'll have plenty of interesting baseball to watch. Just consider this to be like Paul Revere's warning cry to those in New England...the Yankees are coming.
No comments:
Post a Comment