Tuesday, August 5, 2008

BOO of the Week 8/5

This one might be me being biased and hating the player, but I have a problem with Greg Maddux. As most of you know, Maddux is pitching in this year's version of Baseball hell, San Diego. The same San Diego team which is currently 43-70 and 16 games back in the NL JV.

Last week Maddux had the opportunity to get out of this hell and be traded to the Phillies, a team that will be playing for a playoff spot until the end. Instead of taking this opportunity, the self-centered Maddux choose not to waive his no trade clause because he wanted to "stay close to his family."

I respect that a man wants to stay close to his family, so if Maddux wants to do that fine...only one thing...RETIRE! If you do not care about playing for a winner, then do everyone a favor and just retire. The question I have to ask is simple: What are Greg's motives for playing? I would hope it is not money because according to the great people at Baseball-Reference.com Maddux has made $143,845,000 over the course of his career from just salary (of course that does not count the "chicks dig the long ball " commercials he and that other piece of Bravo trash Glavine did in the 90s).



So if it is not for the money, and if he does not care about playing on a winning team, then why does Greg Maddux still play? Does the idea that he is climbing up the top 10 of all-time wins have anything to do with it? Or maybe it is that he wanted to enter the top 10 of all-time strike outs? Maybe I am a bad person and think maliciously, but I think that all Maddux really cares about is Maddux.

Of course I have not even mentioned the fact that the Padres could have received a minor league player for Maddux that may help them down the line. Now I know he has very little value, but it is not is not right to the organization for Maddux to deny them this chance.

I do not want to hear about contracts and no trade clauses either. These things get broken all the time by both the player and the organization and they mean nothing to me.

Greg Maddux has to decide if he still wants to play competitive Baseball and try to win a World Series, or if he wants to just boost his own personal stats. For being selfish Greg Maddux I must tell you....

BOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!!

No comments: