I'm going to start with the offense and coaching before I delve into the situation with Osi and Strahan. The offense coming back this year is largely the same as last season's. The offensive line hasn't changed, the quarterback is the same, as are the running backs. The biggest change to note is the loss of Jeremy Shockey. While I agree with management that Shockey had to go, I think it is going to be a big loss to the Giants. Shockey was reliable, consistent, and a terrific blocker. Not just run blocking either, Shockey was found blocking on every downfield pass play as well. His abilities will be sorely missed, and while I know a lot of Giants' fans like Boss, but make no mistake he lacks the talents that Shockey brought to this club. He is nowhere near the blocker that 80 was, and his pass-catching ability leave a bit to be desired. He drops the ball. Shockey's ego no longer fit in with the new mentality of the club, but make no mistake there will be a hole on this team.
You're telling me this isn't the greatest picture ever?
The wide receiver corps does get better though. Plaxico Burress is still one of the best receivers in football, even if his contract doesn't back that up. Amani Toomer is another year older, but well-dressed never lets Giants fans down with his footwork and catching ability. Steve Smith is the man to watch out of Giants camp. The USC alum is talented, and proved that during the Giants' Super Bowl run. I'm looking for big things out of Steve Smith this season, and training camp reports showed a lot of the same. Other notables out of the massive Giants' receiving corps include Domenik Hixon, Sinorice Moss, Mario Manningham, and the hero, David Tyree. Tyree will be starting the season on the PUP list, and unfortunately I don't see a long term relationship forming here. Hixon does the same things that Tyree does, just better. Hixon has been dazzling coaches in camp, and he was extremely impressive in the Giants preseason game against the Browns' first team. Look for Hixon to get some good looks in, and watch for him in kick returns, the guy is pure speed. Sinorice Moss has been a bit of a disappointment, and a lot of people are hoping for him to come through with all of his promised ability. He and Mario Manningham spent a good portion of training camp on the injured list, so I don't expect to see a lot of them early in the season. The last few days have seen a promising outlook on Manningham's career though. Coaches are saying he has the playbook down inside and out, and has a great head for the game. He knows where he is on the field, and what to do in different situations. I love guys like that, and I have hope that Manningham will be here for the long haul.
A lot of people are hitting the panic button regarding the defense. I'm not. Look, any time you lose Osi Umenyiora and Michael Strahan in one shot, yeah its worrysome. Still, I think that Justin Tuck is the bigger feature between he and Osi. He's a little more versatile, and a bit stronger I believe, and I think he will explode as one of the better ends in football. Kiwanuka, who is moving in to replace Osi, is young but good. Giant fans will remember him from his rookier year, when we were platooning him and Tuck with Osi and Strahan. I think he's a better end than he ever was as a linebacker, and I'm not freaking out just yet over the line. Barry Cofield and Fred Robbins are getting better at the defensive tackle position. We will be a little weak against the run, but our pass rush will be just fine. The secondary looks better than it has ever before. Corey Webster stepped up last season after losing his starting job, and played so well that the Giants had to give it back to him. He's a good guy to have on the team, and opposite the beast known as Aaron Ross, things are looking good at the cornerback position. At safety the Giants have a lot of options. Rookie Kenny Phillips is hitting the snot out of people, and I can't wait to see him lay people out. The starting job isn't his yet as a competition continues with Butler (Coughlin calls him steady eddie because he's so consistent). The other safety spot is filled by longtime vet, Sammy Knight. He's old but we know what we're getting out of him.
I don't think the Giants are going to win the division. On paper, the Cowboys are just too good. The G-Men should still be able to pull off 10-12 wins, depending on their consistency and the performance of a questionable group of linebackers. If the Cowboys stumble out of the gate though, things can start to crumble in Big D. There are a lot of questionable characters down there, and a coach who isn't exactly dominating in the locker room. It's looking like the Giants are going to have to do things the hard way again, but that's what Road Warriors do.
P.S. 14-6 > 18-1
No comments:
Post a Comment